This is an example of a HTML caption with a link.

2022 World Cup Japan Tag 2

Tag 2: Marion Mortefon siegt mit Foil am Leichtwindlimit.

Das Foil hat seinen Wert am zweiten Tag des 2022 Fly! ANA Yokosuka, Miura Windsurf World Cup gezeigt, denn im Slalom der Damen wurde ein Ergebnis erzielt, während im Slalom der Herren nur noch das Winner- und das B-Finale gefahren werden müssen, um auch hier ein Ergebnis zu erzielen. In den Jahren vor der Einführung des Foilings wäre der heutige Tag im Grunde genommen ein Ruhetag gewesen, aber stattdessen konnten die weltbesten Teilnehmer einige unterhaltsame Rennen liefern, obwohl der heutige Tag selbst mit dem Aufkommen des Foilings genau an der Grenze lag, wenn es um konkurrenzfähige Winde ging (5-10 Knoten), was bedeutete, dass perfekte Halsen zwingend erforderlich waren, um erfolgreich zu sein, während die meisten Fehler hart bestraft wurden.


Marion Mortefon (Fanatic / Duotone / LOKEFOIL) struck first blood in the opening elimination of the Fly! ANA Yokosuka, Miura Windsurf World Cup as the reigning Foil World Champion produced a phenomenal first gybe to manoeuvre her way passed - Helle Oppedal (Starboard / Severne Sails) - who had led down the opening reach after making a brilliant start. Claiming the opening bullet of the week gives Mortefon a great platform on which to build as she looks to earn her second world title.

Oppedal will be pleased with her solid start to the event and seemed excited about tomorrow’s expected strong winds, so she will likely be one to watch again. The top 3 was completed by Ma Kwan Ching, who showed excellent pace throughout in the light airs. 

Delphine Cousin Questel (FMX Racing / S2Maui) had been prominently placed until the third buoy, but then dropped off the foil in the light airs, which allowed Justine Lemeteyer (FMX Racing / S2Maui / LOKEFOIL) and Rina Niijima (Starboard / Severne Sails) to overtake and claim 4th, 5th and 6th respectively. 


One attempt was made to run the Men’s Winners’ Final, but with the wind dropping when Matteo Iachino (Starboard / Severne Sails) was in the lead the heat was abandoned, and with the wind failing to return we will have to wait until tomorrow to see who claims the first bullet in the Men’s fleet.

Out of the current top 10 only World Tour leader Amado Vrieswijk (Future Fly / Severne Sails), current No.8 Sebastian Kördel (Starboard / Severne Sails) and No.10 Jordy Vonk (Fanatic / Duotone) missed out on a place in the Winners’ Final as the majority of the top seeds made a strong start to proceedings. So, also joining Matteo Iachino in the final are; Enrico Marotti (JP / NeilPryde), Johan Soe (FMX Racing / Point-7), Maciek Rutkowski (FMX Racing / Challenger Sails), Mateus Isaac (Severne / Severne Sails), Pierre Mortefon (Fanatic / Duotone / Chopper Fins / Phantom Foils), Nicolas Goyard (Phantom Boards / Phantom Sails / Phantom Foils) and Basile Jacquin (FMX Racing / Point-7 / Phantom Foils), who qualifies for his first Winners’ Final of the year. *5-star event.

Tomorrow looks as though it could provide the best racing of the week with a solid forecast on paper, which should hopefully see an action-packed day. The wind is expected to increase from 15-19 knots in the morning to gusting to 30 knots from the south-southwest by the evening.

You can stay up to date with all the latest developments from Japan— including live stream, elimination ladders, entry list, images and live ticker simply by clicking HERE and scrolling to the bottom of the page.

Current Ranking Fly! ANA Yokosuka, Miura Windsurf World Cup - Women’s Slalom
* After 1 Elimination

1st Marion Mortefon | FRA (Fanatic / Duotone / LOKEFOIL)
2nd Helle Oppedal | NOR (Starboard / Severne Sails)
3rd Ma Kwan Shing | HK (Starboard / Severne Sails)
4th Justine Lemeteyer | FRA (FMX Racing / S2Maui / LOKEFOIL)
5th Rina Niijima | JPN (Starboard / Severne Sails)
6th Delphine Cousin Questel | FRA (FMX Racing / S2Maui)
7th Megumi Iseda | JPN (Starboard / Severne Sails)
8th Mae Davico | FRA (Loftsails)